Little Rock Restaurant Recommendations

Everyone always asks me for restaurant ideas for Little Rock! So here is my updated version from the past few months! I only recommend places I’ve actually been, so there’s many more options! I am just partial to these. These are local places. Some are more expensive than others. Keep in mind, even at chain restaurants you tend to spend between $10-$15 a meal (looking at you Olive Garden and BWW). I’ve attached all their websites, so you can check their prices to see if it’s right for you!  Be sure to check out their website for their hours, because some restaurants are only open for breakfast and lunch!

Brunch

The Root Cafe

I honestly don’t like this for lunch; however, their breakfast/brunch is delicious! Everything they serve has fresh ingredients from local farms. The line to order is often out the door, so plan on going on a nice day. There is also a place to sit with your dog! I would recommend one of their biscuits or homemade pop tarts.

 

Pizza

Damgoode Pies

This is more expensive pizza, but it is my favorite pizza place in Little Rock. You can pick different toppings, cheese, and sauce! They also brew their own beer. If you get one of their 6″ pizzas, it’s like a personal pizza. If you want to save money and not be stuffed, this is the way to go.

Vino’s

This is my favorite cheaper pizza. They sell pizza by the slice, and their pieces are huge! It’s a good option for those without a lot of time, or who don’t want to spend money on a whole pizza. I noticed last time I was in, people brought back glass jugs they had bought, and they could fill their jugs up with beer to take with their carry out order. There’s also live music on the weekends!

Fish

Soul Fish Cafe

This fish place is cheaper than most seafood places, but doesn’t sacrifice the quality in taste! The green fried tomatoes were a special due to being from local farms, so they may not be available in the winter. I had a blackened catfish po-boy with sweetpotato fries while my friend had swordfish. It was fish done right, without breaking my pocketbook. Now if you’re looking for fancy seafood, this isn’t it. If your just looking for some good fish, this is the right place.

 

Grab and Go Lunch

Community Bakery

This place is a go to if you want pastries, fresh bread, or something lighter for lunch. My favorite so far is their fresh fruit tarts. Pricing wise it isn’t too bad! This place has been around since 1947 moving around to different locations and settling in on South Main St.

 

Tacos and Tapas

Heights Taco

This taco place in the heights is known for its cheese dip, and their tamales are a must try! It is often crowded and a bit louder though.

 

Baja Grill

Located in the Heights, this Mexican grill specializes in burritos, tacos, and quesadillas. The menu is simple. You pick your flavor/toppings, your meat, and whether you want this mixture in a bowl, burrito, quesadilla, or taco. I like to get the taco, because one will fill me up and it’s only $4.50. Their white cheese dip is creamy and has kick! I eat way too much of it!

 

Asian

Three Fold Dumpling Co.

This was a nice surprise in downtown Little Rock. They had dumplings or noodle bowls where you picked your meat and level of spiciness. I got a mild-chicken dumpling bowl. (These were the small ones!) It’s about $7 for a small bowl. Great if you’re tired of regular Asian food!

 

Bars

Flying Saucer

This bar is known for their HUGE selection of Beer. Since I don’t like beer, I opted to try the food. The pretzel was by far my favorite with the shepherd’s pie coming in second. The pretzel is stuffed with cheese, peppers, and sausage. For a strong kick, you can dip it in their spicy mustard.

 

Cajun’s Wharf

This is such a fun place! I haven’t tried their food, so I can’t comment on that. Even if you go just for drinks, this place is delightful! It is located on the river with a GORGEOUS view. They have several floors, so they offer live music at different times. I adored this rum punch they gave us! Be careful with this one though. I thought they would water it down, because it’s a “pretty” drink. This is basically two drinks in one!

 

Ernie Biggs or Willy D’s Piano Bars

Piano Bars are my favorite! I am always amazed how the musicians can seem to play just about anything! You can give requests, sing-a-long, and drink all-night-long.

20953370_10211197551688066_4554167049525552537_n

Brewskis

This bar is new to me! I want to explore it more, but I’m impressed so far! It has a ground floor with drinks, tables, and TV’s. You can also play shuffle board and beer pong! Downstairs is a spacious club with DJ and dancing.

Ice Cream

Loblolly

Anyone who has lived-in Little Rock for very long knows of Loblolly Ice-cream. It’s special, because they make their own with local ingredients and partner with local stores. Everything they offer is delicious, but my favorites are Little Rocky Road and Arkansas Mud. If you can’t decide on flavors, you and your date can share a flight with 8 flavors for $11. It is worth it! If you don’t want to break the bank, get a kids scoop. It is one scoop and its about the right amount of ice-cream. They also sell coffee, macaroons, and other sweet treats.20180829_190417

 

Fancy Date Night

South on Main

This was more pricey around $20 a plate, but it was 100% worth it. I had the duck, and I thought I went to heaven. The steak melted in your mouth, and I don’t normally like steak! This is a great idea for a special occasion or a fancy date night.

 

The Pantry Crest

This restaurant is not for everyone, but I do enjoy it. I love their bacon wrapped dates appetizer! It is mostly German food, so keep that in mind! I would recommend the goulash. Not only is the food amazing, but their Hillcrest location is adorable. It is located in an old house and has an intimate date night feel.

 

Coffee

Mugs Cafe

Mugs is technically located in North Little Rock. It’s in the Argenta District. I adore their coffee and French toast. Just a word to the wise, their coffee is strong! It’s not that it doesn’t taste good, it just leaves you wired for a few hours. Sadly, they are only open until 6pm, so you can’t sit and study at nighttime. There is talk about them trying to expand their hours though!

 

Mylo Coffee Co.

Although it is a tad more expensive than I could do for a daily habit, Mylo Coffee Co. is special because they make all their pastries from scratch throughout the day. They also roast their own coffee and use their own flavoring syrup! It’s worth the extra dollar to support a local business, especially on a Saturday Morning.

 

 

I hope this helps when you are searching for options to eat in Little Rock!

Casually,

Cecily

Published by cecilybrock

I am a student in College. I love traveling and living life!

Leave a comment